Calder Cup Champions: The Teams

The Calder Cup, the American Hockey League’s ultimate prize, is named after the National Hockey League’s first president, Frank Calder.

Mr. Calder was instrumental in the formation of the AHL in the mid-1930’s and served as president of the NHL until his death in 1943.

The Calder Cup, which gained its current design in 2001, is awarded annually to the AHL playoff champion. The names of the players, coaches and support staff from the 20 most recent winners adorn the base; the plaques containing all previous years’ champions are on display at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto.

Season Champion Series General Manager Head Coach Runner-Up
2022-23 Hershey Bears 4-3 Bryan Helmer Todd Nelson Coachella Valley Firebirds
2021-22 Chicago Wolves 4-1 Wendell Young Ryan Warsofsky Springfield Thunderbirds
2020-21 not awarded
2019-20 not awarded
2018-19 Charlotte Checkers 4-1 Mike Vellucci Mike Vellucci Chicago Wolves
2017-18 Toronto Marlies 4-3 Kyle Dubas Sheldon Keefe Texas Stars
2016-17 Grand Rapids Griffins 4-2 Ryan Martin Todd Nelson Syracuse Crunch
2015-16 Lake Erie Monsters 4-0 Bill Zito Jared Bednar Hershey Bears
2014-15 Manchester Monarchs 4-1 Rob Blake Mike Stothers Utica Comets
2013-14 Texas Stars 4-1 Scott White Willie Desjardins St. John’s IceCaps
2012-13 Grand Rapids Griffins 4-2 Jim Nill Jeff Blashill Syracuse Crunch
2011-12 Norfolk Admirals 4-0 Julien BriseBois Jon Cooper Toronto Marlies
2010-11 Binghamton Senators 4-2 Tim Murray Kurt Kleinendorst Houston Aeros
2009-10 Hershey Bears 4-2 Doug Yingst Mark French Texas Stars
2008-09 Hershey Bears 4-2 Doug Yingst Bob Woods Manitoba Moose
2007-08 Chicago Wolves 4-2 Kevin Cheveldayoff John Anderson W-B/Scranton Penguins
2006-07 Hamilton Bulldogs 4-1 Bob Gainey Don Lever Hershey Bears
2005-06 Hershey Bears 4-2 Doug Yingst Bruce Boudreau Milwaukee Admirals
2004-05 Philadelphia Phantoms 4-0 Bob Clarke John Stevens Chicago Wolves
2003-04 Milwaukee Admirals 4-0 Phil Wittliff Claude Noel W-B/Scranton Penguins
2002-03 Houston Aeros 4-3 Dave Barr Todd McLellan Hamilton Bulldogs
2001-02 Chicago Wolves 4-1 Kevin Cheveldayoff John Anderson Bridgeport Sound Tigers
2000-01 Saint John Flames 4-2 Stew MacDonald Jim Playfair W-B/Scranton Penguins
1999-2000 Hartford Wolf Pack 4-2 Don Maloney John Paddock Rochester Americans
1998-99 Providence Bruins 4-1 Harry Sinden Peter Laviolette Rochester Americans
1997-98 Philadelphia Phantoms 4-2 Bob Clarke Bill Barber Saint John Flames
1996-97 Hershey Bears 4-1 Doug Yingst Bob Hartley Hamilton Bulldogs
1995-96 Rochester Americans 4-3 Joe Baumann John Tortorella Portland Pirates
1994-95 Albany River Rats 4-0 John Weisbrod Robbie Ftorek Fredericton Canadiens
1993-94 Portland Pirates 4-2 Godfrey Wood Barry Trotz Moncton Hawks
1992-93 Cape Breton Oilers 4-1 David Andrews George Burnett Rochester Americans
1991-92 Adirondack Red Wings 4-3 Barry Melrose Barry Melrose St. John’s Maple Leafs
1990-91 Springfield Indians 4-2 Bruce Landon Jim Roberts Rochester Americans
1989-90 Springfield Indians 4-2 Bruce Landon Jim Roberts Rochester Americans
1988-89 Adirondack Red Wings 4-1 Neil Smith Bill Dineen New Haven Nighthawks
1987-88 Hershey Bears 4-0 Frank Mathers John Paddock Fredericton Express
1986-87 Rochester Americans 4-3 George Bergantz John Van Boxmeer Sherbrooke Canadiens
1985-86 Adirondack Red Wings 4-2 Neil Smith Bill Dineen Hershey Bears
1984-85 Sherbrooke Canadiens 4-2 Serge Savard Pierre Creamer Baltimore Skipjacks
1983-84 Maine Mariners 4-1 Max McNab John Paddock Rochester Americans
1982-83 Rochester Americans 4-0 George Bergantz Mike Keenan Maine Mariners
1981-82 New Brunswick Hawks 4-1 Bob Pulford Orval Tessier Binghamton Whalers
1980-81 Adirondack Red Wings 4-2 Ned Harkness Tom Webster &
J.P. LeBlanc
Maine Mariners
1979-80 Hershey Bears 4-2 Frank Mathers Doug Gibson New Brunswick Hawks
1978-79 Maine Mariners 4-0 Keith Allen Bob McCammon New Haven Nighthawks
1977-78 Maine Mariners 4-1 Keith Allen Bob McCammon New Haven Nighthawks
1976-77 Nova Scotia Voyageurs 4-2 Al MacNeil Al MacNeil Rochester Americans
1975-76 Nova Scotia Voyageurs 4-1 Al MacNeil Al MacNeil Hershey Bears
1974-75 Springfield Indians 4-1 Ted Shore Ron Stewart New Haven Nighthawks
1973-74 Hershey Bears 4-1 Frank Mathers Chuck Hamilton Providence Reds
1972-73 Cincinnati Swords 4-1 Fred Hunt Floyd Smith Nova Scotia Voyageurs
1971-72 Nova Scotia Voyageurs 4-2 Al MacNeil Al MacNeil Baltimore Clippers
1970-71 Springfield Kings 4-0 John Wilson John Wilson Providence Reds
1969-70 Buffalo Bisons 4-0 Fred Hunt Fred Shero Springfield Kings
1968-69 Hershey Bears 4-1 Frank Mathers Frank Mathers Quebec Aces
1967-68 Rochester Americans 4-2 Joe Crozier Joe Crozier Quebec Aces
1966-67 Pittsburgh Hornets 4-0 Aldege “Baz” Bastien Aldege “Baz” Bastien Rochester Americans
1965-66 Rochester Americans 4-2 Joe Crozier Joe Crozier Cleveland Barons
1964-65 Rochester Americans 4-1 Joe Crozier Joe Crozier Hershey Bears
1963-64 Cleveland Barons 4-0 Jack Gordon Fred Glover Quebec Aces
1962-63 Buffalo Bisons 4-3 Fred Hunt Bill Reay Hershey Bears
1961-62 Springfield Indians 4-1 Jack Butterfield Pat Egan Buffalo Bisons
1960-61 Springfield Indians 4-0 Jack Butterfield Pat Egan Hershey Bears
1959-60 Springfield Indians 4-1 Jack Butterfield Pat Egan Rochester Americans
1958-59 Hershey Bears 4-2 Lloyd Blinco Frank Mathers Buffalo Bisons
1957-58 Hershey Bears 4-2 Lloyd Blinco Frank Mathers Springfield Indians
1956-57 Cleveland Barons 4-1 Jim Hendy Jack Gordon Rochester Americans
1955-56 Providence Reds 4-0 Terry Reardon John Crawford Cleveland Barons
1954-55 Pittsburgh Hornets 4-2 Jim Balmer Howie Meeker Buffalo Bisons
1953-54 Cleveland Barons 4-2 Jim Hendy Fred (Bun) Cook Hershey Bears
1952-53 Cleveland Barons 4-3 Jim Hendy Fred (Bun) Cook Pittsburgh Hornets
1951-52 Pittsburgh Hornets 4-2 Jim Balmer “King” Clancy Providence Reds
1950-51 Cleveland Barons 4-3 Jim Hendy Fred (Bun) Cook Pittsburgh Hornets
1949-50 Indianapolis Capitals 4-0 Dick Miller Ott Heller Cleveland Barons
1948-49 Providence Reds 4-3 Louis A.R. Pieri Terry Reardon Hershey Bears
1947-48 Cleveland Barons 4-0 Al Sutphin Fred (Bun) Cook Buffalo Bisons
1946-47 Hershey Bears 4-3 John Sollenberger Don Penniston Pittsburgh Hornets
1945-46 Buffalo Bisons 4-3 Art Chapman Frank Beisler Cleveland Barons
1944-45 Cleveland Barons 4-2 Bill Cook Fred (Bun) Cook Hershey Bears
1943-44 Buffalo Bisons 4-0 Eddie Shore Art Chapman Cleveland Barons
1942-43 Buffalo Bisons 3-0 Eddie Shore Art Chapman Indianapolis Capitals
1941-42 Indianapolis Capitals 3-2 Dick Miller Herb Lewis Hershey Bears
1940-41 Cleveland Barons 3-2 Al Sutphin Bill Cook Hershey Bears
1939-40 Providence Reds 3-0 Louis A.R. Pieri Fred (Bun) Cook Pittsburgh Hornets
1938-39 Cleveland Barons 3-1 Al Sutphin Bill Cook Philadelphia Ramblers
1937-38 Providence Reds 3-1 Louis A.R. Pieri Fred (Bun) Cook Syracuse Stars
1936-37 Syracuse Stars 3-1 John C. Johnston Eddie Powers Philadelphia Ramblers