The Eddie Shore Award is annually awarded to the player chosen by the AHL coaches, media and players as the best defenseman in the league.

Eddie Shore, a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame and an inaugural inductee into the American Hockey League Hall of Fame in 2006, is widely acknowledged as one of hockey’s all-time greatest defensemen.

In 1939, Shore purchased the Springfield Indians while still an active player with the NHL’s Boston Bruins. Upon his retirement, he devoted his full attention to his AHL investment. When the United States Army took over the Eastern States Coliseum during World War II, Shore moved to Buffalo and managed the Bisons to two Calder Cup championships.

The Indians franchise was reactivated in 1946-47 and Shore remained part of the team until he sold it in 1976. With Shore at the helm, Springfield captured Calder Cup titles in 1960, 1961, 1962, 1971 and 1975.

2022-23Christian WolaninAbbotsford Canucks
2021-22Jordan GrossColorado Eagles
2020-21Ryan MurphyHenderson Silver Knights
2019-20Jake BeanCharlotte Checkers
2018-19Zach RedmondRochester Americans
2017-18Sami NikuManitoba Moose
2016-17Matt TaorminaSyracuse Crunch
2015-16T.J. BrennanToronto Marlies
2014-15Chris WidemanBinghamton Senators
2013-14T.J. BrennanToronto Marlies
2012-13Justin SchultzOklahoma City Barons
2011-12Mark BarberioNorfolk Admirals
2010-11Marc-Andre GragnaniPortland Pirates
2009-10Danny GroulxWorcester Sharks
2008-09Johnny BoychukProvidence Bruins
2007-08Andrew HutchinsonHartford Wolf Pack
2006-07Sheldon BrookbankMilwaukee Admirals
2005-06Andy DelmoreSyracuse Crunch
2004-05Niklas KronwallGrand Rapids Griffins
2003-04Curtis MurphyMilwaukee Admirals
2002-03Curtis MurphyHouston Aeros
2001-02John SlaneyPhiladelphia Phantoms
2000-01John SlaneyWilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins / Philadelphia Phantoms
1999-2000Brad TileySpringfield Falcons
1998-99Ken SuttonAlbany River Rats
1997-98Jamie HewardPhiladelphia Phantoms
1996-97Darren RumblePhiladelphia Phantoms
1995-96Barry RichterBinghamton Rangers
1994-95Jeff SerowikProvidence Bruins
1993-94Chris SnellSt. John's Maple Leafs
1992-93Bobby DollasAdirondack Red Wings
1991-92Greg HawgoodCape Breton Oilers
1990-91Norm MaciverCape Breton Oilers
1989-90Eric WeinrichUtica Devils
1988-89Dave FenyvesHershey Bears
1987-88Dave FenyvesHershey Bears
1986-87Brad ShawBinghamton Whalers
1985-86Jim WiemerNew Haven Nighthawks
1984-85Richie DunnBinghamton Whalers
1983-84Garry LariviereSt. Catharines Saints
1982-83Greg TebbuttBaltimore Skipjacks
1981-82Dave FarrishNew Brunswick Hawks
1980-81Craig LevieNova Scotia Voyageurs
1979-80Rick VaskoAdirondack Red Wings
1978-79Terry MurrayMaine Mariners
1977-78Terry MurrayMaine Mariners
1976-77Brian EngblomNova Scotia Voyageurs
1975-76Noel PriceNova Scotia Voyageurs
1974-75Joe ZanussiProvidence Reds
1973-74Gordie SmithSpringfield Kings
1972-73Ray McKayCincinnati Swords
1971-72Noel PriceSpringfield Kings/Nova Scotia Voyageurs
1970-71Marshall JohnstonCleveland Barons
1969-70Noel PriceSpringfield Kings
1968-69Bob BlackburnBuffalo Bisons
1967-68Bill NeedhamCleveland Barons
1966-67Bob McCordPittsburgh Hornets
1965-66Jim MorrisonQuebec Aces
1964-65Al ArbourRochester Americans
1963-64Ted HarrisCleveland Barons
1962-63Marc ReaumeHershey Bears
1961-62Kent DouglasSpringfield Indians
1960-61Bob McCordSpringfield Indians
1959-60Larry HillmanProvidence Reds
1958-59Steve KraftcheckRochester Americans