butterfield_200.jpgThe Jack A. Butterfield Trophy, named after the former president and treasurer of the American Hockey League, honors the most valuable player of the Calder Cup Playoffs as selected by the league.

Jack Butterfield, who went on to serve as the chairman of the Board of Governors until his death in 2010, served the longest tenure of any AHL president (28 years). He was a 1980 inductee into the Hockey Hall of Fame, and a member of the inaugural Class of 2006 into the American Hockey League Hall of Fame.

Prior to joining the AHL's front office, Mr. Butterfield had a long career as an executive with the Springfield Indians, serving as general manager of their Calder Cup championship teams in 1960, 1961 and 1962.

2022-23Hunter ShepardHershey Bears
2021-22Josh LeivoChicago Wolves
2020-21not awarded
2019-20not awarded
2018-19Andrew PoturalskiCharlotte Checkers
2017-18Andreas JohnssonToronto Marlies
2016-17Tyler BertuzziGrand Rapids Griffins
2015-16Oliver BjorkstrandLake Erie Monsters
2014-15Jordan WealManchester Monarchs
2013-14Travis MorinTexas Stars
2012-13Tomas TatarGrand Rapids Griffins
2011-12Alexandre PicardNorfolk Admirals
2010-11Robin LehnerBinghamton Senators
2009-10Chris BourqueHershey Bears
2008-09Michal NeuvirthHershey Bears
2007-08Jason KrogChicago Wolves
2006-07Carey PriceHamilton Bulldogs
2005-06Frederic CassiviHershey Bears
2004-05Antero NiittymakiPhiladelphia Phantoms
2003-04Wade FlahertyMilwaukee Admirals
2002-03Johan HolmqvistHouston Aeros
2001-02Pasi NurminenChicago Wolves
2000-01Steve BeginSaint John Flames
1999-2000Derek ArmstrongHartford Wolf Pack
1998-99Peter FerraroProvidence Bruins
1997-98Mike ManelukPhiladelphia Phantoms
1996-97Mike McHughHershey Bears
1995-96Dixon WardRochester Americans
1994-95Corey Schwab, Mike DunhamAlbany River Rats
1993-94Olaf KolzigPortland Pirates
1992-93Bill McDougallCape Breton Oilers
1991-92Allan BesterAdirondack Red Wings
1990-91Kay WhitmoreSpringfield Indians
1989-90Jeff HackettSpringfield Indians
1988-89Sam St. LaurentAdirondack Red Wings
1987-88Wendell YoungHershey Bears
1986-87Dave FenyvesRochester Americans
1985-86Tim TookeyHershey Bears
1984-85Brian SkrudlandSherbrooke Canadiens
1983-84Bud StefanskiMaine Mariners