canning_200.jpgRichard Canning served the AHL for over 50 years and is best remembered as the "father" of the league's Constitution, By-Laws and Regulations.

He began his hockey career in 1938 as a legal advisor to long-time friend and owner of the Providence Reds, Louis A.R. Pieri. He then joined the League in 1957 as executive vice president.

The following year, Mr. Canning was named President of the AHL, a position he held until 1961. In 1974, he returned as vice president and general counsel, where he worked until 1990.

Established in 1990, the Richard F. Canning Trophy was originally awarded to the Northern Division (1990-95) and Northern Conference (1996-97) playoff champions, and has gone to the Eastern Conference playoff champions since 1998.

2022-23Hershey BearsEastern Conference (playoffs)
2021-22Springfield ThunderbirdsEastern Conference (playoffs)
2020-21not awarded
2019-20not awarded
2018-19Charlotte CheckersEastern Conference (playoffs)
2017-18Toronto MarliesEastern Conference (playoffs)
2016-17Syracuse CrunchEastern Conference (playoffs)
2015-16Hershey BearsEastern Conference (playoffs)
2014-15Manchester MonarchsEastern Conference (playoffs)
2013-14St. John's IceCapsEastern Conference (playoffs)
2012-13Syracuse CrunchEastern Conference (playoffs)
2011-12Norfolk AdmiralsEastern Conference (playoffs)
2010-11Binghamton SenatorsEastern Conference (playoffs)
2009-10Hershey BearsEastern Conference (playoffs)
2008-09Hershey BearsEastern Conference (playoffs)
2007-08Wilkes-Barre/Scranton PenguinsEastern Conference (playoffs)
2006-07Hershey BearsEastern Conference (playoffs)
2005-06Hershey BearsEastern Conference (playoffs)
2004-05Philadelphia PhantomsEastern Conference (playoffs)
2003-04Wilkes-Barre/Scranton PenguinsEastern Conference (playoffs)
2002-03Hamilton BulldogsEastern Conference (playoffs)
2001-02Bridgeport Sound TigersEastern Conference (playoffs)
2000-01Saint John FlamesEastern Conference (playoffs)
1999-2000Hartford Wolf PackEastern Conference (playoffs)
1998-99Providence BruinsEastern Conference (playoffs)
1997-98Saint John FlamesEastern Conference (playoffs)
1996-97Hamilton BulldogsNorthern Conference (playoffs)
1995-96Portland PiratesNorthern Conference (playoffs)
1994-95Albany River RatsNorthern Division (playoffs)
1993-94Portland PiratesNorthern Division (playoffs)
1992-93Springfield IndiansNorthern Division (playoffs)
1991-92Adirondack Red WingsNorthern Division (playoffs)
1990-91Springfield IndiansNorthern Division (playoffs)
1989-90Springfield IndiansNorthern Division (playoffs)