clarke_200.jpgRobert W. Clarke played an instrumental role in the formation of the Rochester Americans when, in 1956, he recruited a group of Rochester businessmen to be 45% owners of the team, becoming partners with the Montreal Canadiens and Toronto Maple Leafs.

Mr. Clarke became involved with the American Hockey League itself when he was appointed Chairman of the Board of Governors in 1967, a post he held through 1994.

In recognition of his achievements, Mr. Clarke received the James C. Hendy Memorial Award in 1972 and 1993 as an outstanding league executive.

The Clarke Trophy has been awarded to the Western Conference playoff champions since 1998.

2023-24Coachella Valley FirebirdsWestern Conference (playoffs)
2022-23Coachella Valley FirebirdsWestern Conference (playoffs)
2021-22Chicago WolvesWestern Conference (playoffs)
2020-21not awarded
2019-20not awarded
2018-19Chicago WolvesWestern Conference (playoffs)
2017-18Texas StarsWestern Conference (playoffs)
2016-17Grand Rapids GriffinsWestern Conference (playoffs)
2015-16Lake Erie MonstersWestern Conference (playoffs)
2014-15Utica CometsWestern Conference (playoffs)
2013-14Texas StarsWestern Conference (playoffs)
2012-13Grand Rapids GriffinsWestern Conference (playoffs)
2011-12Toronto MarliesWestern Conference (playoffs)
2010-11Houston AerosWestern Conference (playoffs)
2009-10Texas StarsWestern Conference (playoffs)
2008-09Manitoba MooseWestern Conference (playoffs)
2007-08Chicago WolvesWestern Conference (playoffs)
2006-07Hamilton BulldogsWestern Conference (playoffs)
2005-06Milwaukee AdmiralsWestern Conference (playoffs)
2004-05Chicago WolvesWestern Conference (playoffs)
2003-04Milwaukee AdmiralsWestern Conference (playoffs)
2002-03Houston AerosWestern Conference (playoffs)
2001-02Chicago WolvesWestern Conference (playoffs)
2000-01Wilkes-Barre/Scranton PenguinsWestern Conference (playoffs)
1999-2000Rochester AmericansWestern Conference (playoffs)
1998-99Rochester AmericansWestern Conference (playoffs)
1997-98Philadelphia PhantomsWestern Conference (playoffs)
1996-97Hershey BearsSouthern Conference (playoffs)
1995-96Rochester AmericansSouthern Conference (playoffs)
1994-95Cornwall AcesSouthern Division (playoffs)
1993-94Cornwall AcesSouthern Division (playoffs)
1992-93Rochester AmericansSouthern Division (playoffs)
1991-92Rochester AmericansSouthern Division (playoffs)
1990-91Rochester AmericansSouthern Division (playoffs)
1989-90Rochester AmericansSouthern Division (playoffs)